top of page

Let the foolishness begin!

We are getting ready to pick up our first two goats, and I am so excited! This has been a life-long dream for me, and I can't wait to get started.

Side note: The only reason I'm getting to do this now is because I have the most patient husband ever.

For the past several months I've been reading about goats, going to goat shows, buying materials, and creating a safe place for the goats to live. I've spent more money than I ever thought I would (Quality goats are not cheap! Neither are the fences to keep them safe!) I spent weeks just learning how to read pedigrees and then months looking for the perfect goats to start this whole journey. And now finally- in two short days- we can bring our babies home!

Our first two goats, Valentine and Winsome, are both coming from farms in Virginia, about 6 hours from us (see note about patient husband above). They come from experienced breeders who test regularly for CAE, Johnes, and CL. Valentine's breeder in particular has been amazingly helpful. She has answered all my questions about goat care and shows, plus provided information that I didn't even think to ask for, but found very useful. I have watched videos but am s​​till a bit nervous about hoof care, so when we go to her farm she is going to show me how to trim hooves. (I know that probably doesn't sound very exciting, but I'm giddy with anticipation!)

Both Val and Winnie (I'm already giving them nicknames) have very nice pedigrees. Winnie's bloodlines in particular impressed me: Her dam was the AGS Reserve National Champion in 2005. She's got Rosasharn blood from her dam and and NC Promisedland blood from her sire. ​​

​​For his part, Valentine is bringing NC Promisedland blood from his dam and Little Tot's Estate from his sire. He has excellent milk production from both sides.​​

My goal is that our goats will be competitive in the show ring and highly producti​​ve on the milk stand. It is very important to me that with each breeding, we are making our herd better and helping to improve the breed. There is a good chance that our kids will be purchased as pets or to help other homesteaders start their own small herd. To that end, I want to become an expert at breeding and keeping a small herd so that I can help others reach their goals.

If you are just getting started like me, make sure to check out my post on "Things I wish I'd known" for a list of surprises you may want to think about/avoid when embarking on your own journey!

Happy goating!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page