top of page

Rut?

Yesterday I had the goats out of their paddock while I was cleaning up our patio area. They were loving the fresh weeds, trees that still have leaves below the 5 ft mark, and a salt block that we got for the local deer but then never put out. Val was also enjoying Winnie's company. A bit too much. I got some of it on video, but it continued off and on all day. Some of the most entertaining moments happened off camera, with Val blubbering at Winnie while curling his lips back. He was also especially offended when Checkers (the large wether) was anywhere near his lady.

I was concerned that his behavior might mean that Winnie is not pregnant afterall, but I did some more research online and found that bucks can just get this way in the fall. Winnie wanted nothing to do with Val, and kept laying down just to get away from him, so that is a good sign that she isn't in heat.

Here's a sample of what I saw. Disclaimer: some of the contents of this video may not be suitable for young children. And if you are the squeamish type, you probably don't want to watch it right before you eat.

(Please ignore the mess. Country living has taken its toll on my interest in curb appeal.)

UPDATE: I'm starting to get very worried that Val's bucky behavior means Winnie isn't pregnant. He's been acting this way for about a week, and today it seems worse (check out the video below). Winnie still won't stand for Val, and all she wants to do is get away from his advances. But she has a clear/white discharge and I've read that this is a possible sign that she's in heat. I guess we'll see...


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page