top of page

Babies coming soon?!  YES!!!

Valentine's Day UPDATE:

Our baby is here! Winnie and Val had a blue-eyed buck tonight. He is healthy and happy, as is mama. His barn name is Cornflake (Cooper named him) but I'm thinking his registered name will be Valentine, in honor of his sire and the day he was born. And notice that heart-shaped patch on his side?

2/5/16 UPDATE:


Last night I felt babies kicking! Actually, they were tap dancing and head-butting.

I say "they" because I want there to be more than one, but I have nothing to back that up. Winnie hasn't really wanted me to touch her through this whole experience (probably because I've been poking and proding her at every turn), so when she laid still for me to feel around, I didn't want to jinx it. I kept my hand in one spot on her right side and didn't move much for the 30 minutes I was out there. I felt a head and definitely some feet, with maybe a hip or butt. I have no idea if it was just 1 baby doing somersaults or if I was feeling 2 or 3. Who ever is in there seems strong and healthy though!

I still have no idea when she's due. Looking at the gestation calculator (see below for link), she would have been due about 10 days ago if she had gotten pregnant the day I saw her and Val together. Since that date has come and gone, I have no way to know when she will drop. Now I just have to watch and wait. I've gotten very good at the watching part. The waiting? Not so much.

Wouldn't it be sweet if she kidded on Valentine's Day?

JANUARY 23, 2016 UPDATE:

In another post, I mentioned how I had caught Val and Winnie in a **cough** compromising position a few weeks before she had a negative pregnancy test. The test is only accurate after 30 days of pregnancy, so I was excited there was still a chance that she was pregnant, but I wasn't holding my breath for it. That was in early October.

Well around Christmas, I noticed that she has gotten much bigger. (I went back to pictures of her from August to October to verify it.) What's more is that she's gotten bigger while her grain portions have actually gone down. Some other changes I noticed in December: a swollen backside and a sensitive, bigger udder.

Now to just figure out her due date. If she did in fact get pregnant that day I saw them together, then she's due in about a week. If not, then who knows?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page